TOC Dissector Quiz Index Help Abdomen Previous Page Next Page Overview
Laboratory 37. Abdominal Cavity
Step 13. The Colon and its Divisions

Previous Image Next Image

Click for Full Screen
Click image to view full screen

Orientation Icon

(1 of 3)

The second part of large intestine is called the colon and is divided into four regions:

  • ascending colon
  • transverse colon
  • descending colon
  • sigmoid colon

The ascending colon is a retroperitoneal organ. It is attached to the posterolateral abdominal wall and has no supporting mesentery.

The ascending colon is continuous with the transverse colon at the hepatic flexure or right colic flexure, which is located just beneath the right lobe of the liver (Figure 37.6).

Links and References:
Grant's: 2.71
Netter: 266
Rohen/Yokochi: 287, 298