TOC Dissector Quiz Index Help Abdomen Previous Page Next Page Overview
Laboratory 37. Abdominal Cavity
Osteology and Surface Anatomy

Click for Full Screen
Click image to view full screen

(1 of 2)

For anatomical and clinical reference, the abdominal cavity can be divided into nine regions, or into four quadrants. The location of the organs or pathological changes within the abdominal cavity can be more accurately described using these divisions. Both types of divisions are used clinically. The quadrants are generally used to describe the generally location of visceral pain or pathological changes. The nine regions are used to more accurately identify the location of palpable structures or other pathological changes.

The nine subdivisions of the abdominal cavity are delineated by two vertical and two horizontal planes (Figure 37.1) The two vertical planes are located in the midclavicular line, which passes mid-way between the superior anterior iliac spine and pubic tubercle.

Links and References:
Grant's: 2.1A
Netter: 231, 251
Rohen/Yokochi: 183