TOC Dissector Quiz Index Help Thorax Previous Page Next Page Overview
Laboratory 21. Mediastinum

Click for Full Screen
Click image to view full screen

Orientation Icon

The mediastinum is anatomically divided into two primary regions, the superior mediastinum and inferior mediastinum, by a horizontal plane through the body at the level of the sternal angle and the intervertebral disc T4/T5. The inferior mediastinum is further subdivided into the anterior, middle, and posterior mediastinum (Figure 21.1 and Figure 21.2).

During this laboratory the anterior, superior, and posterior regions of the mediastinum will be studied. The boundaries and structures of each of these compartments will also be considered.

The main structure of the middle mediastinum, the heart, was studied previously ( see Laboratory Twenty).

Links and References:
Grant's: 1.22
Netter: 218, 219, 230
Rohen/Yokochi: 228, 251, 267